Social and Behavioural Sciences

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

With roughly 4700 students and 430 staff, the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences is a large division within Leiden University. It contains four institutes:

  • Cultural Anthropology and Development Sociology
  • Education and Child Studies
  • Political Science
  • Psychology

Together these institutes offer Bachelor’s, Master’s, and PhD programmes.

In instruction and research, faculty and students from the Netherlands and abroad focus on themes of wide social interest, e.g., adoption, growing up in a multicultural society, European politics, safety, traditional ways of life, and changing societies.